Photography Cars and Style

Nice camera it must…STOP RIGHT THERE!

Watch this movie I created before reading the blog post. This is something that has happened to me quite a few times, and I know every other photographer freelance or pro has had this happen many of times as well. Whatever is said in this movie is just ment to be funny. I personally don’t get this bothered when someone says this (yes sometimes it will get on my nerves) but not to the point in which this cute little bear takes it. Enjoy!

This Post was actually created because I had read another blog post from an amazing photographer, Danny Santos II. He puts it very well in what he says in the post. If this comes out wrong from me check out what he said. You may understand a little better. I’m not being cocky and no, I do not think I am the best photographer out there. But to all of you fellow photographers, I know comments like these get under your skin a little. I’ve needed to blow off some steam a little bit and I’ve felt this would be the best way to do so. Yes as some of you know I recently had to purchase a Canon 5D MKII camera. My Canon 40D decided to blow up, along with my car two weekends ago. That is actually when I came about making this video. I was pissed because I missed having a camera and needed to let out a little steam. In the past two years that I have been a photographer there have been a few times when people have said to me, “nice camera, it must take __________ pictures”. Fill in that blank with fast, nice, great, beautiful. Hell you can throw in that blank ugly, shitty, fucked up, or disgusting as well. Yea all these things happen good and bad with this camera I am shooting with right here. But I have news for ya peps. The camera didn’t just take that picture, I did. Yes I took that picture and I made it great, I made it shitty, I made it work, and yes I made that magic that will make your jaw drop, your eyes water, or the horrible blank look that says, never show this picture again.

Example: I took this picture below with a point and shoot camera. I like to show this picture. (this was a couple of months into my journey as a photographer, with a little bit of knowledge on how to work a camera)

On the other hand here is a picture I took when i got my first DSLR (when I had no clue). The picture is out of focus, exposure is all wrong, framing and composition was horrible. I think this could’ve been a decent pic, given the fact that I had a clue as to what the hell I was doing.

Sorry if anyone has been offended, the post wasn’t ment for that. It’s just I feel I am speaking for other photographers when I say this. Yes as well as myself but like I said it usually will not bother me when I hear this. As a photographer I love attention, and if the size or looks of my camera gets that for me than bring it on!

Agree or Disagree leave a comment or repost this post on your facebook or with the share button.

5 responses

  1. You are awesome!

    I’m not a photographer… I have a Nikon D90 (major overkill, but I am learning to use it.. slowly) I take some good shots though, but most of them are shit, even though I have a kick arse camera.. But even I get the shits when people say ‘That photo is great, you must have an awesome camera’… Now I shall just write down this address and send them here.

    August 25, 2010 at 8:36 PM

    • Hey, thanks for the comment. You do have great pictures, keep up the good work!!

      August 25, 2010 at 8:41 PM

      • Thanks!

        August 25, 2010 at 9:16 PM

  2. Yup I get that all the time. LOL great post by the way.

    Even overheard one say to another: get a dslr your kids photos won’t be so blurry anymore. The one getting blurry shots was holding an EP 2.

    September 25, 2010 at 7:04 PM

  3. Pingback: Photographers not getting credit or recognition? « Speedexposure's Blog

Leave a Reply

