Photography Cars and Style

Twitter me this, and Twitter me that!

Well folks, I have just been introduced to the world of Twitter. I went out for a drink with two friends of mine who I haven’t seen in a very long time. Long time = 3 long years. My friend Jim Carlucci, Systems Admin at CoreStates Capitol Advisors, LLC. Also my friend Brian Hoff, who owns the website “The Design Cubicle” . As conversation led on I figured out that we all had pretty strong opinions on technology and how its being used today with our generation. Jim works with computers all day, brian, well brian is a technology maniac…read his  blog. Anyways the conversation was never dead between us for a good couple hours. Well the talking got on and the topic of twitter came up. WTF is this crap?! Things like RT, @, #, and website links looking like http://bit.ly/aSXWpd <—- What the shit is this all about?! (By the way visit that link) Anyways as jaws dropped cause I guess I had been so behind on the “twitter” movement Brian took a couple of minutes to show me how it works. Why the hell didn’t i take 15 minutes out of my life to learn how to use twitter? Who the hell knows…lack of interest? Laziness? Probably will do nothing for me? Well I quickly learned how easy it is to market myself, blog, and photography all in one spot! So enough of the yappin, this is the end of this post, and guess what? I’m going to tweet it!

2 responses

  1. Thanks for the mention Joe and it was great hanging out again the other night. We definitely need to get together soon – you, me and Jim – and “talk tech” without the ladies getting annoyed with our nerdery. 🙂

    Great to hear Jim and I got you filled in and excited about Twitter and blogging. A few points to extend beyond your article and our conversation:

    Using Twitter and blogging needs to be about marketing yourself last. It’s about building friendships through shared passion and knowledge, which later transforms into a network, that even later creates a marketing effort. Approaching it in the way of “having it do something for you” is the wrong approach. Imagine you are at a party (aka Twitter) and there is that one person who keeps talking (aka tweeting) about themselves and thats all they talk (aka tweet) about. Me, me, me, me… You wouldn’t want to be friends or even listen to that person regardless help promote or involve yourself in their marketing efforts. Just something to think about.

    I wish you the best of success with this blog and on Twitter and look forward to that next drink / tech talk night!

    Being casual and real is the key. Share your passion. Help others that share your passion by re-sharing their passion (aka retweeting). Have conversations. Listen to what others are talking about. Twitter is more about listening than it is talking. Become the go-to guy for, in your instance, cars and photography.

    A great, and must read book is called “Crush It” by Gary Vaynerchuck that touches on all the points above and beyond. He is a very “in your face” kind of fella, but one thing is apparent when you see him talk and read his book: he’s got a lot of passion. And that is the key; passion. I don’t design because I like money. I design because I love it and honestly believe good design creates memorable experiences. I don’t write about design because I think it will get more subscribers. I write because I like thinking through problems and recording my thoughts on design in hopes to better myself and others. I don’t tweet because I like hearing myself tweet aloud. I tweet great links and have convos because I enjoy the experience and like sharing great information with others that I also find helpful. Karma usually follows along next.

    September 25, 2010 at 5:58 PM

  2. Well it was surly an overdue drink! It was nice to see a great example of how everyone advances in life via their own path.

    As for our conversation, I think what gets lost in a conversation amidst 3 friends (drinking non the less) is the initial intent of these social networking outlets.

    Facebook for example was initially intended to be an easy way for old friends and new friends to stay in touch. Look what it has turned into now.

    Twitter was and is the fastest way to spread information across the web. While Brian uses it as a way to mass market himself and his work (his work is awesome by the way) I use it to stay 100% up-to-date on all things involving financial technology.

    I think as the platforms evolve, so will our use of them.

    Lets have another drink soon!

    September 28, 2010 at 1:57 PM

Leave a Reply

