Photography Cars and Style

Skating Philly is a Crime…

In 5th grade till about 9th- 10th grade I used to skate. Me and some friends would hit up the local elementary school, we would take the “dinky” into Princeton and skate the university. Not only did we skate but we carried on the whole image as well. You didn’t have to have your skateboard on you because as long as you were rocking your huge Jnco jeans and sporting your Stussy and Alien Workshop shirts, people would know the deal.

We would have people yell at us because we were in the way or they had thought we were too reckless. Cops would chase us down and try to ticket us for things like vandalism and trespassing. Well they never usually caught up.

After I had got out of skating (took on a new interest, cars), I noticed that the skating scene kind of died down a bit. Now maybe thats because i wasnt involved in it anymore, so i never really payed any attention to it. I noticed there were less and less skaters in public places like the parks, train stations, schools, and shopping centers.

After my journey to Center City, Philadelphia I learned I was very wrong. Center city was flooded with skaters and bikers. It was incredible how many people were skating. There was a crew going at City Hall and if you crossed the street there was another group at Love Park.

The culture was still the same. The clothes were a bit more expensive though, haha. People wearing ALIFE, 10 DEEP, and fresh NIKE SB‘S. It kind of reminded me of the street races. Everyone met up in thier spots, bikers and skaters started fileing out of nowhere some came equipped with thier coffee, others rolled up with thier red bull. They would all sit around and talk, smoke cigs, laugh and joke. When the cops came around it was a massive scramble and within 10 seconds flat the spot was abandoned.

I sat around for a little bit to warm up to the crowd before i started firing my weapon of choice, 5D MKii. I noticed the scene had grown massivly. There were kids ranging from 11 years old up to adults looking like they were about 30. For the most park the crowd was nice. They didn’t mind me and my friend taking pictures. Others were very stand-off towards us but it was well understood.

Watching some of these skaters I was amazed. The tricks that I would try to master about 10-12 years ago, there were three 12 year olds doing them with ease. It’s like the younger kids these days are trained machines in sports. Tricks were being executed at City Hall that I couldn’t image possible without a ramp about 12 years ago.

Needless to say the title of this post was a sarcastic one. I personally don’t belive skating is a crime. Being an ex-skater I do now that yes you do cross that trespassing line very often, but that’s part of the rush.

To view more pictures visit my Flickr

Leave a Reply

