Photography Cars and Style

Photographers not getting credit or recognition?

This weekend I got really riled up over a series of commercials. These commercials were from Panasonic, and they were based on their new series of Lumix cameras. The message being portrayed in each of these commercials is the “you don’t have to be a great photographer to take great pictures“.  Heres the first video.

As you all know I made a post about this in August, to view click HERE. Through reading that post you should understand how much these commercials piss me off. Not only me, but they should aggravate the world of photographers as well! We are no longer going to be able to get credit for taking great pictures. Now the public is starting to think more and more that it’s the camera that’s taking those great pictures. Here’s the second commercial, as much as I’d hate to give Panasonic the free advertisement, this has to be seen.



To be honest I’ve been going through a lot of these Panasonic commercials on YouTube. While the may be funny commercials they are actually going against Dslr‘s with their point and shoots…doesn’t Panasonic make a Dslr? This confuses me as well because its like they are going against a form of product that they make. Here’s a short YouTube video that I made with the XtraNormal software.

Well I understand companies trying to catch every new angle to market their own product in a way no other company has. I do believe this was taking it too far. I feel it takes the credit away from the Photographer. Now that this craze has taken over, the market is flooded with photographers that think shooting in Auto modes are enough to get by. One thing Panasonic won’t be able to offer in “auto mode” is our eye.

 The difference between a great photo and a work of art is the ability to see in a way other’s don’t. That is something technology will never be able to take away from us.

Anyone who has ever used a camera that reads this blog please leave a comment. This is definitely open for discussion! I want to know from you photographers as well, am I the only one getting angry about this?!

10 responses

  1. Those commercials are hilarious. Why get irritated? If you’re a photographer, you get the joke — at least one hopes you do. Companies need to sell products, Panasonic saw an angle and used it. Panasonic doesn’t sell a DSLR either, the offer an interchangeable lens micro 4/3’s sensor mirrorless camera.
    The campaign however, is brilliant. As a photographer you shouldn’t let it get to you — most people know it isn’t the camera.
    For those that do think the camera makes the photographer, a 5d and a grip of L lenses wouldn’t make them great, it’s that simple.
    For the record those commercials hit Australia two years ago. The ads are great, it pokes fun at the serious nature of photography and overbearing professionals.
    Step back and look at it for what it is rather than the weird perception you’ve got.
    If you want to get mad about something I’d direct my anger towards HDR photography, any douche with a camera, seven exposures and Photoshop can make them happen. What looks better than a good photo? That’s right, seven mediocre exposures layered together with the saturation cranked to the sky. Who needs to know how to operate the camera manually when you can take a whole series of badly under/overexposed shots to get every last detail into it?
    Still photography has bigger fish to fry than a company selling point and shoots, though my Ricoh GRD2 is a fantastic point and shoot.

    Joe, getting fired up about this is about as useful as those guys who argue film over digital. I’m glad your’e passionate about photography, but your’e not the target market.
    People will always need someone who is a professional who is skilled in the craft to make the photos they want to see.

    December 12, 2010 at 1:25 PM

  2. I feel you. These are insulting.

    However, it is up to the individual consumer to do enough research and decide for themselves what they are willing to spend their money on. So I suppose if people are gullible enough to believe that all it takes to get great photos is a great camera, well, they are entitled to spend as much money as they can on it.

    I get asked more often than anything else “what kind of camera should I buy?” – my response is always, “what kind of person are you?”

    I shoot Nikon because I prefer the way the menus, settings, functions, etc. handle. I love the way it feels and I love the way it is set up as a tool. I see a lot of portrait photographers who use Canon and I really adore the way some of their photos look in comparison to mine; however, I have a thing for Nikon color over Canon SOOC. It’s all a manner of preference.

    Panasonic makes those “micro” DSLRs, right? From what I’ve read of them, they still can’t hold a candle to DSLRs that are built for what we do. Part of what draws me to the big names (Canon, Nikon) is the GLASS – not even the camera bodies at all, but the quality of the lenses. I had actually really seriously considering going Sony, because they seem to be a really heavy contender in the DSLR market now… but it came down to lenses and body handling in the end.

    I digress… Lumix commercials? Insulting.

    December 12, 2010 at 1:47 PM

  3. Scott, these commercials are hilarious i will admit because they speak no lie. A lot of people out there dont have a clue how to work a camera but they see these commercials and think it will do it all for them.
    PS…Lets not get started with HDR hahaha I’ll save that for another day!

    Sam, I totally understand your perspective as well. I for one do the same. I always get asked what kind of camera should I buy. Event though right now I shoot Canon I usually tell the person its all user preference. Menu’s, easy control, weight, and lenses. I will say being very big into Canon and shooting with a Nikon a few times really has me thinking about converting…shhhhh…

    December 12, 2010 at 2:02 PM

    • I shoot manual meterless film cameras(Leica M4-P and a bag full of primes). I may go Nikon when I get back to shooting digital slr’s — the M9 with it’s 7k price-tag is a but of a put off.

      I think if these commercials are getting your panties in a twist, I’d suggest working on getting a tougher skin.

      Id agree that its more about the glass than the actual body you shoot with, I like — scratch that — love Canon L Glass. I love my small Leica kit more though. I don’t have zooms on a rangefinder so I have no other option that to join in on the action. You’d be right in saying the Panny GH1 interchangeable lense cameras don’t hold a candle to the APS-C or full frame digital cameras, they can’t. They’ve got a 2x crop factor and a much smaller sensor offering increased DOF at wider apertures, but more noise at higher ISO’s.

      At the end of the day, these are commercials and they’re hilarious, nothing more, nothing less. If you feel offended by them see paragraph two.
      Buck up Sally.

      Sidenote: I figured your by your headline you meant that people were stealing your images and not crediting you as the photographer, that would merit a blog post and a long definition of how copyright law works.

      December 12, 2010 at 3:24 PM

  4. Tim

    Joe I think the first commercial is great. It’s poking fun at everyone who takes photography too seriously. Photography is about the shot and having fun and being creative. I can’t stand uptight photog’s or wanna be photog’s who carry around their used d40 with some cheap ebay lens, or the guy who has 3k worth of equipment and is afraid to use manual mode, and act like their going to capture the photography equivalent of a Picasso. Their noses in the air like their shit doesn’t stink and their memory cards are full of award winning shots.

    Any true photographer regardless of skill level will know that a truly great shot can be taken with anything, even a goddam pinhole camera.

    I feel that photography as an art is slowly dying. Giving way to mediocre shots that are heavily edited in PS to create great shots. Joe-Schmo down the street can shoot his kids with a $35 walmart no name camera, pirate a copy of PS online, watch “you suck at photoshop” on youtube, and wham! A great picture is made. Yet that picture lacks soul. It lacks the story of how you got it. It lacks that “Thats gonna be a great shot” moment of excitement. Your stuck with a good picture with a very generic feel.

    Great photo’s are taken, not made.

    December 12, 2010 at 2:57 PM

    • Tim, I think your thinking on that ending is wrong.
      The best photos from years past have been made(I’m talking before the age of digital). There is nothing wrong with some legit post processing. I do mine in the darkroom on my wet prints and I make minor adjustments in PS when needed.

      Photographers make photos. Amateurs take snapshots.

      December 12, 2010 at 3:29 PM

      • Tim

        I agree post processing can be great when used properly. It’s a powerful tool that can be utilized when your unable to get a certain effect while in the field. But I see photo’s heavily edited that should’ve been deleted in the first place. Most beginners don’t want to learn the basics of photography. They have no desire to learn about composition, they’d rather just spend an hour in photoshop tweaking their uninteresting shot to help bring in interest.

        I guess what I’m trying to say is that many people RELY on photoshop to create their shots, when they could be great right out of the camera with a little patience, thought, and some skill

        December 13, 2010 at 11:20 PM

  5. “Photographers make photos. Amateurs take snapshots.” Well said Scott! This post has said one thing to me, “dont buy luminix” and trust me, i won’t be!

    December 12, 2010 at 3:43 PM

  6. Joe, I see your view and how angry this makes you and at the same time it’s all about marketing and making the $$ in this case. Only a professional photographer knows the “real” work and dedication involved it takes to get anywhere.

    December 12, 2010 at 9:48 PM

  7. Scott

    I still fail to see the logic in getting bent out of shape over an ad aimed at a specific market. To that end, shouldn’t you be urinating upon yourself in disbelief about those Nikon ads where Ashton Kutcher is pretending he’s a pro?
    I mean, he whores himself out to sell the entire line. He makes people with cameras seem like scene-haired hipsters who make goofy faces to get “the shot.”
    Should I get fired up that BMW calls itself the ultimate driving machine? I know damn well that a skilled driver in a crappy KIA from 10 years ago could make it perform nearly as well after determining the obvious shortcomings of the car?
    It’s the driver not the car — the same goes for cameras.
    No, I go about my day realizing there are far more important things to worry about.
    On the upside I’m sure Panasonic is loving the free ad-space you’ve given them, it’s too bad you wont get paid for the promo spot.
    Feel free to disagree, but I feel I’ve made my point pretty clear here.

    December 12, 2010 at 10:22 PM

Leave a Reply

